The Board of Directors of Lindt & Sprüngli

The Board of Directors makes decisions and is assisted by Board Committees in certain areas.

The Board of Directors - Role, Function, Members

The Board’s primary function is to exercise the ultimate management of the Group; it makes strategic decisions and defines the general means for achieving the goals it has set, defines the General Meeting agenda and approves the Annual and Semi-Annual reports, as well as the Compensation Report. Decisions regarding the appointment of members to Group Management, as well as resolutions on shareholders’ motions for the General Meeting, will be made by the full Board.

The Board of Directors of Chocoladefabriken Lindt & Sprüngli AG consists of at least five and not more than nine members according to Article 17 of the Articles of Association. If the number of members falls below five, the minimum number of members must only be restored at the next ordinary General Meeting.

As of December 31, 2019, the Board had six members. Ernst Tanner is Executive Chairman of the Board; all other members are non-executive members.

Ernst Tanner (CH)

Mr. Tanner was elected CEO and Vice Chairman by the Board of Directors in 1993. In 1994, he became Chairman of the Board. He is a member of the Corporate Sustainability Committee. He completed a commercial education and then attended business school in London and at Harvard. Before joining Lindt & Sprüngli, Mr. Tanner held top management positions for more than 25 years with the Johnson & Johnson Group in Europe and in the USA, last as Company Group Chairman Europe. Mr. Tanner has been a member of the Board of Directors of the Swiss Swatch Group since 1995, Vice Chairman of the Board of Directors since 2011, as well as member of the Compensation Committee since 2002 and Chairman of this committee since May 2014. He also has a seat on the Advisory Boards of both the German Krombacher Brauerei GmbH&Co. KG and the Austrian SIGNA Group. As of September 30, 2016, Mr. Tanner resigned as CEO of the Lindt & Sprüngli Group and is since then Executive Chairman of the Board of Directors.

Dr. Rudolf K. Sprüngli (CH)

Mr. Sprüngli has been a member of the Board of Directors since 1988. He is the Chairman of the Compensation & Nomination Committee and the Corporate Sustainability Committee. He completed his studies with a doctorate in economics. Due to his former executive activities for the Group and for an international premium food trading company, Mr. Sprüngli is an expert authority in the chocolate business. Today, he manages his own consulting firm. Mr. Sprüngli is also a member of the Council of the British-Swiss Chamber of Commerce, a member of the Board of Directors of Peter Halter Liegenschaften AG, an Advisory Board member at the institut für Wirtschaftsberatung as well as Chairman of Freies Gymnasium Zurich.

Antonio Bulgheroni (IT)

Mr. Bulgheroni has been a member of the Board of Directors since 1996 and was Lead Director from February 2009 until end of September 2016. He currently serves on the Audit Committee and Compensation & Nomination Committee. His extensive company management experience in every area of the chocolate business makes Mr. Bulgheroni a highly respected international expert in the chocolate industry. From 1993 until his retirement in April 2007, he was CEO of Lindt & Sprüngli S.p.A. Since then, he has been Chairman of the Board of Lindt & Sprüngli S.p.A. and Caffarel S.p.A., the two Italian subsidiaries of the Group. Mr. Bulgheroni, who holds the Order of Merit for Labor of the Italian Republic, is a member of the Board of Directors of the L.I.U.C. University, as well as the Chairman of the Board of Directors of Bulgheroni S.p.A.

Dkfm. Elisabeth Gürtler (AT)

Ms. Gürtler has been a member of the Board of Directors since 2009 and is currently a member of the Audit Committee. She completed her business science studies with a master’s degree, then built up an outstanding reputation, particularly as director of the world-famous Sacher Hotels in Vienna and Salzburg, in an area where premium quality plays a key role. From 1998 till 2012, Ms. Gürtler was a member of the Supervisory Board of Erste Group Bank AG, and she was a member of the general council of the Austrian National Bank from 2004 to 2014. Currently Ms. Gürtler is a member of the Board of Directors of ATP Planungs- und Beteiligungs AG in Innsbruck and since July 2019 President of the Supervisory Board of the Tiroler Museums.

Dr. Thomas Rinderknecht (CH)

Mr. Rinderknecht has been a member of the Board of Directors since April 2016 and is currently Chairman of the Audit Committee. He has a PhD in law and was admitted to the Bar in the Canton of Zurich in 1982. From 1984 onwards, he worked as a freelance commercial attorney before becoming Senior Partner with the law firm Badertscher Rechtsanwälte AG, Zurich and Zug, as of 2009. Since 1984, Mr. Rinderknecht has had numerous directorships on the boards of various unlisted companies in the healthcare/pharmaceutical/biotech branches and in the media, as well as in the industrial sector. With his background as a commercial attorney, Mr. Rinderknecht’s legal expertise is of particular benefit to the Board of Directors.

Silvio W. Denz (CH)

Mr. Denz has been member of the Board of Directors since May 2018 and is currently member of the Compensation & Nomination Committees as well as of the Corporate Sustainability Committee. He is an entrepreneur active in the fields of luxury goods, wine, restaurants, hotels, art, and real estate. After a commercial training and professional positions in the financial, commercial, and marketing sector in Switzerland and in the USA, in 1980 he took over the management of Alrodo AG in Zurich and developed it into the largest perfumery chain in Switzerland. In 2000, he founded Lalique Group SA (formerly Art & Fragrance SA), a company active in the creation, marketing, and worldwide distribution of luxury goods, to which crystal manufacturer Lalique has belonged since 2008. Mr. Denz oversees the Group, which is listed in Switzerland, as Chairman of the Board of Directors and is its principle shareholder. He is also a member of different non-listed Swiss investment companies.